Sonata for Flute and Piano Op. 23

Composed: 1989
Duration: 10 minutes
First Performance: March 1999, by Timothy Kipling (Flute) and Mark Packwood (Piano) at the Royal Grammar School, Worcester

Lento – Andante – Tempo

Allegro – Andante – Allegro

Cast in two movements, the first is plaintive in mood and contrasts an initial melodic idea, passed between flute and piano, with a more bleak and austere melody, accompanied by dramatic chords in the piano. After a slightly more affirmative section the chordal accompaniment returns, heralding a canonic restatement of its main melodic idea.

The second movement, in contrast, begins solidly in the key of C Major, with scalic figures in both instruments. This heralds the movement’s first subject, a diatonic melody accompanied by a highly syncopated idea of the piano. The second subject is more lyrical and passionate and leads, via a short cadenza for piano, to a fugato section.

After the ‘recapitulation’ of the movement’s first and second subjects, the work ends in a flourish with the flute and piano vying the final word. The work is dedicated to the flautist Timothy Kipling.